My School Is Set Up Weird

My school is set up differently from others. Most schools have one elementary school,  grades K-5. After elementary school there’s middle school, grades 6-8, and then high school for 9-12th grades. If you’re from a different country than the USA, you’re probably a bit confused on the ages for these grades. To clarify:

Kindergarten: 5-6

1st grade:6-7

2nd grade:7-8

3rd grade:8-9

4th grade:9-10

5th grade:10-11

6th grade:11-12

And so on until age 18, when you graduate 12th grade, or your senior year of high school. Back to the point of the story, my school is set up differently from the way other schools are, as mentioned above. At my school, Logan Elm, we have three elementary schools, which are K-4th grade. Next up our middle school is 7-8th grades. The remaining 5-6 grades go to our intermediate school. I haven’t heard any official reason as to why we have an intermediate school. I thought it was to introduce people to each other for the first time, since they’ve never met. It now really occurs to me that it’s probably because we have no room at the middle and elementary schools now that I think about it. Anyway, it’s kind of annoying having to explain all of this about our school to anyone whenever grades come up. Which is one of the reasons why I’m excited for our new school!

 A couple years ago our school finally won a levy and we were allowed to build a new school. We only have this year and the next before it’s finished. I get to be the first class that goes all four years at the new high school.

Image of the construction site of our new school

Image from https://www.loganelm.org/protected/ArticleView.aspx?iid=430I2&dasi=33BB

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


Skip to toolbar